Sandy Butler
Senior Medical Transcriptionist

What is the favorite part about your work day?

My favorite part about my work day is completing an assignment. I'm a goal-oriented person and love finishing tasks.

What are your favorite hobbies?

My life is insanely busy. In addition to my transcription work I also work part-time as an elementary schoolteacher and have three children. When I have the time I love to read, cross-stitch and crochet. I also enjoy singing and dancing in community theater.
Do you have any pets?

You could say we have a few pets. We have four cats (all rescue cats, two of which are beautiful Maine Coons), two gerbils, two birds and two tanks of goldfish. Thankfully the kids do most of the work taking care of them.

What is your favorite vacation spot?

My favorite vacation spot is anywhere warm. I especially love the beautiful beaches in North Carolina.

If you could accomplish one thing this year, what would it be?

To make some time for myself every day. I try, but it doesn't always happen. I've been working on a cross-stitch project for about five years and would love to have the time to finish it.

What do you do to wind down from a long day at work?
I don't really have any "wind-down" rituals because I don't work set hours. Some days I work 8-4 but when teaching I work in the evenings and my hours are very flexible depending on my kid's schedules. What I do try to do everyday is get out of the house and walk. The change of scenery helps, as does the physical exercise. I feel better and it helps with concentration.
What are the 'pros' of your job?

The biggest pro of my job is the flexibility. Throughout the years my need for work hours has varied and this job accommodates that. Also, I love the fact that I can be at home most of the day, taking a 10 minute break now and then to throw in a load of laundry or start supper. I also appreciate that I can be available to my kids when they need me. I can be there for them when they are sick and attend all their school functions without missing work.

What is the main ‘specialty’ of your job?
I prefer to do office notes for physicians because I find them to be the most interesting.
Tell us about your kids:

I have three children. My eldest son is 16 and adopted from Vietnam. He's a junior at Pathways to Technology High School. My second child is also 16. He's a sophomore at St. Paul Catholic School. My daughter is 12 and also adopted from Vietnam. She's a 7th grader at St. Matthew's Lutheran School in New Britain and I have the pleasure of being her teacher this year.

Register for our free Absolutely Accurate Newsletter
Your Email: